Painting Update 25/11/2016

38

The painting continues unabashed as tomorrow’s deadline closes in! With all the infantry and vehicles now done (the tanks and drop pods being done to such a bad standard that they are not really worthy of a post in their own right) I can now focus on the last piece of the puzzle – the HQ units.

After a few trial games, I have decided to change up the list a bit from what it was on the original painting list  -I’ll go into the reasons why when I start my ‘Road to the Hong Kong Championships’ posts.  It basically involved shaving points to get more scouts and some psychic protection into the force.  As such, a ‘counts as’ Ezekiel was added to the HQ choices, along side the Chaplain and the Company Master from the battle companies.

I have also decided to deploy a secret weapon to add a bit of firepower to the rank and file – a 2016 anniversary marine!  He has been sat in his box awaiting a chapter since I got him, and I have decided to commit him to the dark angels cause.  I simply swapped out his shoulder pads form some dark angel veteran ones, and he will go in one of the assault squads, probably the one I will usually add the HQ units to in the drop pod.  This will hopefully give them a bit more firepower when they land – I envisage taking out a riptide or a dread knight with a lucky shot, although that failed to materialize in any of the trial games so…

Chaplain Grimaldus

Chapter Master Jehoel

Librarian Brother Lazarus

Ancient Brother Maalik


Process:

•Sprayed Chaos Black, with Dark Green Wash on black armor areas,
•Trims, joints and breastplates done in Leadbelcher,
•Eyes, Pauldron Icons and purity seals in Mephiston Red,
•Plasma cells done in Lothern Blue,
•Robes done in Bleached Bone, washed with Seraphim Sepia,
•Based with Fine Brown Sand, washed with Seraphim Sepia and Dry brushed with Bleached Bone.  Clumps of grass and stones added

Thoughts:

Again quality is pretty low, but no irretrievable damage done and at least it is tidy so I can come back and do some more detail on these chaps and bring them up to a better level.  I even had time to do a dry brush effect on the libby’s sword, which helps to lift the model out of the mire a teeny tiny bit (ok, not really).

Ezekiel is just a stand-in Librarian from the DV set at the mo – I do have bits to do my own conversion of him but just not the time to do it as well as I want to.  The same goes for the chapter master model – this one is a perfectly good stand in for now, but will eventually be demoted to a veteran sergeant as the chapter master should be a bit grander I think and at least have the same bulk and presence as the chaplain mode does.

I decided to keep some of the cloaked areas black as I didn’t want to stray too much into the contemporary dark angels look  or deathwing colours of bone and red, but currently I think they are just too black overall and will require changing at a later date.  Maye dark green as a further nod to the dark angels, or possible bone and just accept that they will stand out like sore thumbs from the rest of the dark mass of the horde!

Anyway, with these chaps done I have successfully beaten the deadline with hours to spare!  Oh what to do with those precious hours ?  Maybe spend some time with the wife and kids before disappearing on a two day toy soldier bender?  Or perhaps undertake another small and pointless bonus project for the tournament?

Hmmm, decisions decisions…..

Leave a Reply

